The House of Representatives passed Rep. Clay Higgins’ (R-La.) H.Res. 990 today, expressing its support for Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) officers. The House Resolution passed with a 244-to 35-vote, winning support from most House Republicans, while most House Democrats voted "Present".

The National ICE Union issued the following statement following the vote.

"On behalf of the men and women of ICE, I want to thank Congressman Higgins for having our backs and taking a stand to support ICE law enforcement officers and staff, especially at a time like this. I also want to thank Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA), Majority Whip Steve Scalise (R-LA), Chairman Bob Goodlatte (R-VA), and both Republican and Democratic Members of the House who supported Congressman Higgins' resolution for their steadfast support of the brave men and women of ICE.

"Certain elected officials, political leaders, and members of the press have engaged in hateful and often false rhetoric against our officers and employees encouraging widespread death threats and the targeting of ICE officers, employees, and their families. For these leaders, officials, and the media to enflame this type of hatred toward our officers and staff – at a time when law enforcement personnel are being targeted and have been assassinated on our nation’s streets – marks a truly dark time in our country’s history. It’s comforting to know that some in Congress, like Congressman Higgins, still understand the value and importance of supporting the brave and courageous men and women of law enforcement.

"National security, or even basic border security, does not exist without the interior enforcement of a nation’s immigration laws, as the horrific events of 9/11 and indeed terrorist attacks worldwide have proven. With over 2 million criminal aliens estimated to be currently residing in the U.S., our jails and prisons are already dramatically overcrowded and local police are often overwhelmed, begging for ICE and its resources to assist in making our communities safer. Those calling for the abolishment of ICE don’t understand the significant threat to our nation’s security and the safety of American communities that their ideas present."

Rep. Higgins introduced his resolution in response to a House bill introduced by Rep. Mark Pocan (D-Wisc.) that would abolish ICE. He said those pushing to do away with the agency are promoting a dangerous policy stance.

"Calls to abolish ICE are reckless, dangerous to America’s national security and threaten the well-being of our ICE agents," Rep. Higgins said. "[T]he campaign against ICE is the latest rallying cry for open borders, the latest call to prioritize illegal immigrants over American citizens, the latest shrill cacophony from the left to vilify and demonize front-line law enforcement in America."

226 Republicans supported the resolution. Rep. Justin Amash of Michigan was the lone Republican to oppose it.

18 House Democrats supported the resolution, including:

Rep. Tom O'Halleran (AZ)
Rep. Kyrsten Sinema (AZ)
Rep. Ami Bera (CA)
Rep. Jim Costa (CA)
Rep. David Scott (GA)
Rep. Charlie Crist (FL)
Rep. Al Lawson (FL)
Rep. Stephanie Murphy (FL)
Rep. Peter Visclosky (IN)
Rep. Stephen Lynch (MA)
Rep. Jacky Rosen (NV)
Rep. Josh Gottheimer (NJ)
Rep. Thomas Suozzi (NY)
Rep. Kurt Schrader (OR)
Rep. Matthew Cartwright (PA)
Rep. Conor Lamb (PA)
Rep. Henry Cuellar (TX)
Rep. Ron Kind (WI)

34 House Democrats opposed the Resolution, including:

Rep. Raul Grijalva (AZ)
Rep. Adam Schiff (CA)
Rep. Jared Huffman (CA)
Rep. Eric Swalwell (CA)
Rep. Juan Vargas (CA)
Rep. Mark DeSaulnier (CA)
Rep. Jimmy Panetta (CA)
Rep. Luis Correa (CA)
Rep. Jimmy Gomez (CA)
Rep. Darren Soto (FL)
Rep. Val Demings (FL)
Rep. Danny Davis (IL)
Rep. Luis Gutierrez (IL)
Rep. Bobby Rush (IL)
Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL)
Rep. Anthony Brown (MD)
Rep. Justin Amash (MI)
Rep. Lacy Clay Jr. (MO)
Rep. Emanuel Cleaver II (MO)
Rep. Bennie Thompson (MS)
Rep. Joe Crowley (NY)
Rep. Gregory Meeks (NY)
Rep. Jose Serrano (NY)
Rep. Nydia Velazquez (NY)
Rep. Yvette Clarke (NY)
Rep. Paul Tonko (NY)
Rep. Adriano Espaillat (NY)
Rep. Lloyd Doggett (TX)
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (TX)
Rep. Eddie Johnson (TX)
Rep. Al Green (TX)
Rep. Beto O'Rourke (TX)
Rep. Joaquin Castro (TX)
Rep. Marc Veasey (TX)
Rep. Filemon Vela (TX)

Interior Enforcement

Updated: Wed, Aug 1st 2018 @ 8:40pm EDT