Search for:

E-Verify Expands Self-Check to 21 States

author Published by Chris Chmielenski

U.S. Customs and Immigration Services has expanded its E-Verify
self-check tool to include 21 states, allowing individuals to check their
worker eligibility status before applying for a new job. The program is
called Self Check and has been up and running for several months in
states that have passed mandatory E-Verify laws such as Arizona and
South Carolina.

The service is available in both English and Spanish.

“Self Check equips workers with fast, secure access to their employment
eligibility information before they apply for jobs,” said USCIS Director
Alejandro Mayorkas. “By offering Self Check to Spanish speakers and
making the service more widely available, USCIS makes good on a promise
to streamline and protect the integrity of the E-Verify process for
employees and employers alike.”

Should Rep. Lamar Smith’s (R-Texas) E-Verify bill (H.R.2164) pass through Congress, DHS would be required to make Self Check available in all 50 states.

Self Check is now available in Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington.

If you live in one of these states, click here for more information.

Take Action

Your voice counts! Let your Member of Congress know where you stand on immigration issues through the Action Board. Not a NumbersUSA member? Sign up here to get started.

Action Board

Donate Today!

NumbersUSA is a non-profit, non-partisan organization that relies on your donations to works toward sensible immigration policies. NumbersUSA Education & Research Foundation is recognized by America's Best Charities as one of the top 3% of well-run charities.


Immigration Grade Cards

NumbersUSA provides the only comprehensive immigration grade cards. See how your member of Congress’ rates and find grades going back to the 104th Congress (1995-97).

Read More