U.S. Customs and Immigration Services has expanded its E-Verify self-check tool to include 21 states, allowing individuals to check their worker eligibility status before applying for a new job. The program is called Self Check and has been up and running for several months in states that have passed mandatory E-Verify laws such as Arizona and South Carolina.

The service is available in both English and Spanish.

"Self Check equips workers with fast, secure access to their employment eligibility information before they apply for jobs," said USCIS Director Alejandro Mayorkas. "By offering Self Check to Spanish speakers and making the service more widely available, USCIS makes good on a promise to streamline and protect the integrity of the E-Verify process for employees and employers alike."

Should Rep. Lamar Smith's (R-Texas) E-Verify bill (H.R.2164) pass through Congress, DHS would be required to make Self Check available in all 50 states.

Self Check is now available in Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington.

If you live in one of these states, click here for more information.

Legal Immigration

Updated: Wed, Aug 17th 2011 @ 3:45pm EDT