Three California cities in Orange County, Newport Beach, Orange, and Westminster, voted last week to join the Trump Administration's effort to overturn California laws that block or interfere with federal immigration enforcement.

In addition to backing the lawsuit, Newport Beach City Council, which voted unanimously to join the lawsuit, the City of Orange took action to publicly oppose California's "sanctuary" policy, SB54, which prohibits state and local law enforcement from fully cooperating with federal immigration authorities. The cities' decisions come after the Orange County Board of Supervisors voted 3-2 to condemn SB54 last month.

Orange County is counted among 18 states and local governments -- Los Alamitos, Calif., Orange County, Los Alamitos, Texas, Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina and West Virginia -- that filed to join the Trump Administration's lawsuit last month.

For more on this story, see The Orange County Register and Breitbart.

Updated: Thu, May 10th 2018 @ 4:29pm EDT