The Daily Caller reports that President Obama and his predecessors on multiple occasions issued executive orders that banned groups of potentially-dangerous people from entering the United States. Obama and others have claimed Donald Trump’s proposed temporarily ban is unconstitutional and un-American but there is clear precedent and authority under current law, the report notes.

Section 212(f) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) says that "Whenever the president finds that the entry of aliens or of any class of aliens into the United States would be detrimental to the interests of the United States, the president may, by proclamation, and for such period as he shall deem necessary, suspend the entry of all aliens or any class of aliens as immigrants or non-immigrant's or impose on the entry of aliens any restrictions he may deem to be appropriate."

Obama’s first ban in 2011 affected immigrants and nonimmigrants: “under a UN travel ban; anyone who violates any of 29 executive orders regarding transactions with terrorists, and those who undermine the democratic process in specific countries, or transnational criminal organizations.” It cited Section 212(f) of the INA. His other bans involved individuals aiding Syria or Iran, those involved in war crimes, those threatening South Sudan, and those purporting to represent an area of the Ukraine destabilized by Russian troops.

After forces of Ayatollah Khomeini captured the U.S. Embassy in Iran, former President Jimmy Carter invalidated “all visas issued to Iranian citizens for future entry into the United States” and barred the issuance and reissuance of visas “except for compelling and proven humanitarian reasons or where the national interest of our own country requires.”

Former President Ronald Reagan issued executive orders that barred: illegal aliens “arriving at the borders of the United States from the high seas;” “entry for any Cuban nationals or immigrants except in certain cases,” such as those considered “special immigrants” under the law; and officials from the government of Panamanian Dictator Manuel Noriega.

When president Bill Clinton banned those involved in a Haitian coup, Bosnian Serb supporters, Sudanese government members, and those involved in the overthrow of the Sierra Leone government.

Former president George W. Bush targeted foreign nationals involved in "ethnic cleansing" in the Western Balkans, Zimbabwe government members, officials of the governments of Belarus and Lebanon, those seeking to bribe U.S. officials, and foreign officials who undermine U.S. efforts to fight human trafficking.

Read more in the Daily Caller.

National Security
Legal Immigration

Updated: Fri, Jul 1st 2016 @ 3:30pm EDT