Today the Dept. of Justice sent a final letter to eight identified sanctuary jurisdictions who were identified in May 2016 by the DOJ’s Inspector General. Four of the jurisdictions have been cleared while the other four continue to potentially violate federal immigration laws.

The four jurisdictions who, after a preliminary assessment, were found to be out of compliance with federal immigration enforcement laws are:

  • Cook County, Illinois
  • Chicago, Illinois
  • New Orleans, Louisiana
  • New York, New York
  • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

These jurisdictions risk losing certain federal grants because of their policies that shield illegal aliens from federal law enforcement efforts.

The Justice Department worked with Clark County in Nevada and Miami-Dade County in Florida and both jurisdictions are now in compliance and have lost sanctuary city status.

After the preliminary assessment, the DOJ found that Milwaukee County, Wisconsin and the state of Connecticut were currently in compliance with federal immigration laws as well.

“Jurisdictions that adopt so-called ‘sanctuary policies’ also adopt the view that the protection of criminal aliens is more important than the protection of law-abiding citizens and of the rule of law,” said Attorney General Jeff Sessions. “I commend the Milwaukee County Sheriff’s Office and the State of Connecticut on their commitment to complying with Section 1373, and I urge all jurisdictions found to be out of compliance in this preliminary review to reconsider their policies that undermine the safety of their residents. We urge jurisdictions to not only comply with Section 1373 but to establish sensible and effective partnerships to properly process criminal aliens.”

Read more on this story at

Interior Enforcement
sanctuary cities

Updated: Thu, Oct 26th 2017 @ 2:05pm EDT