Rep. Brian Babin Letter Halting Refugee Resettlement Program


Rep. Brian Babin (R-Texas) released a letter signed by 73 other House members calling for House leadership to include language that would halt the Obama administration's refugee resettlement program in the upcoming omnibus spending bill.

"There is no duty of the federal government more important than ensuring the protection of the American people," the letter stated. "We believe that we would fall short of that duty if Congress fails to exercise greater authority over the Administration's refugee resettlement program. We see this as an important national security concern."

"It is prudent and in the best interest of the American people that language be included in the upcoming FY 2016 appropriations legislation to restore Congressional oversight and authority over the refugee program," they added.

The letter also asked that U.S. funds "continue to be used to provide for the safety of refugees overseas, including housing, food and medical aid."

The 74 House Members to sign the letter include:

1. Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX)
2. Rep. Ralph Abraham (R-LA)
3. Rep. Lou Barletta (R-PA)
4. Rep. Diane Black (R-TN)
5. Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
6. Rep. Charles Boustany (-LA)
7. Rep. Dave Brat (R-VA)
8. Rep. Jim Bridenstine (R-OK)
9. Rep. Mo Brooks (R-AL)
10. Rep. Bradley Byrne (R-AL)
11. Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH)
12. Rep. Curt Clawson (R-FL)
13. Rep. Chris Collins (R-NY)
14. Rep. Kevin Cramer (R-ND)
15. Rep. Ron DeSantis (R-FL)
16. Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R-TN)
17. Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-SC)
18. Rep. John Duncan (R-TN)
19. Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-TX)
20. Rep. Stephen Fincher (R-TN)
21. Rep. John Fleming (R-LA)
22. Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-OH)
23. Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-TX)
24. Rep. Paul Gosar (R-AZ)
25. Rep. Trey Gowdy (R-SC)
26. Rep. Garret Graves (R-LA)
27. Rep. Glenn Grothman (R-WI)
28. Rep. Frank Guinta (R-NH)
29. Rep. Gregg Harper (R-MS)
30. Rep. Andy Harris (R-MD)
31. Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-TX)
32. Rep. Jody Hice (R-GA)
33. Rep. Tim Huelskamp (R-KS)
34. Rep. Duncan Hunter (R-CA)
35. Rep. Sam Johnson (R-TX)
36. Rep. Walter B. Jones (R-NC)
37. Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH)
38. Rep. Trent Kelly (-MS)
39. Rep. Steve King (R-IA)
40. Rep. Darin LaHood (R-IL)
41. Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO)
42. Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ)
43. Rep. Mia Love (R-UT)
44. Rep. Cynthia Lummis (R-WY)
45. Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-TX)
46. Rep. Mark Meadows (R-NC)
47. Rep. John Mica (R-FL)
48. Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL)
49. Rep. Mick Mulvaney (R-SC)
50. Rep. Dan Newhouse (R-WA)
51. Rep. Richard Nugent (R-FL)
52. Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX)
53. Rep. Gary Palmer (R-AL)
54. Rep. Scott Perry (R-PA)
55. Rep. Bruce Poliquin (R-ME)
56. Rep. Mike Pompeo (R-KS)
57. Rep. Bill Posey (R-FL)
58. Rep. Tom Reed (R-NY)
59. Rep. Tom Rice (R-SC)
60. Rep. Phil Roe (R-TN)
61. Rep. David Rouzer (R-NC)
62. Rep. Matt Salmon (R-AZ)
63. Rep. Mark Sanford (R-SC)
64. Rep. Austin Scott (R-GA)
65. Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL)
66. Rep. Bill Shuster (R-PA)
67. Rep. Jason Smith (R-MO)
68. Rep. Marlin Stutzman (R-IN)
69. Rep. Randy Weber (R-TX)
70. Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-AR)
71. Rep. Roger Williams (R-TX)
72. Rep. Ted Yoho (R-FL)
73. Rep. Todd Young (R-IN)
74. Rep. Ryan Zinke (R-MT)

Read more at Breitbart.

National Security

Updated: Tue, Dec 15th 2015 @ 2:30pm EST