In a surprise move, Sen. Patrick Leahy motioned to table Sen. Sessions' E-Verify Amendment, and the motion passed by a narrow margin, 50-47.

(Read Roy's blog for analysis of the vote)

Every Republican but the ill Sen. Johanns of Nebraska (who didn't vote) voted NO to tabling the long-term E-Verify extension.

Seven Democrats joined the Republicans in supporting jobless American workers:
  • Bayh of Indiana
  • Klobuchar of Minnesota
  • McCaskill of Missouri
  • Baucus and Tester of Montana
  • Nelson of Nebraska
  • Webb of Virginia
Sen. Kennedy of Massachusetts didn't vote because of illness. All other Democrats voted against a long-term stability for the E-Verify program that helps businesses avoid keeping illegal aliens in jobs and that is the linchpin of more than a dozen state and local laws.

Visit your Action Buffet for a list of actions to take.

Updated: Wed, Dec 30th 2009 @ 11:45am EST