Defend unemployed Americans and returning veterans by joining the more than 99,000 people who already signed the petition urging Pres. Obama, Speaker Pelosi and Majority Leader Reid to keep four workplace enforcement amendments in the Homeland Security Spending Bill. We are personally delivering the petition to all three EVERY DAY! Watch Roy's video, read his blog, and then SIGN THE PETITION TODAY!

The measures include:

  • The Sessions amendment, which would permanently reauthorize E-Verify and mandate its use by all government contractors and subcontractors;
  • The DeMint amendment, which would force DHS to complete the 700 miles of border fencing which has already been approved and funded;
  • The Vitter amendment, which would force the Social Security Administration to continue their "No-Match" program (DHS Sec. Napolitano recently ended the program); and
  • The Grassley amendment, which would allow all businesses that use E-Verify to run all of their current employees through the E-Verify system.

The battle to save these pro-enforcement, pro-American worker amendments will be fought in the Conference Committee for the Homeland Security spending bill. That committee will be responsible for reconciling the differences between the bills passed by the Senate and House.

While the House has not yet appointed members to the Conference Committee, the Senate has appointed Senators Robert Byrd (D-W.V.), Daniel Inouye (D-Hawaii), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.), Patty Murray (D-Wa.), Mary Landrieu (D-La.), Frank Lautenberg (D-N.J.), Jon Tester; Arlen Specter (D-Pa.), George Voinovich (R-Ohio), Thad Cochran (R-Miss.), Judd Gregg (R-N.H.), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), Sam Brownback (R-Kan.), and Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska).

Interior Enforcement

Updated: Wed, Dec 30th 2009 @ 11:51am EST