Chris Chmielenski's picture


  by  Chris Chmielenski

The Securing America's Future Act, H.R. 4760, fell just 20 votes short of passing the House last week, setting a high-water mark for supporting an end to chain migration and mandatory E-Verify. Notably, more than 100 House Republicans voted against the Goodlatte-Ryan-Denham Amnesty, H.R. 6136, and in favor of H.R. 4760 -- a bill that NumbersUSA had supported since its introduction back in January.

101 House Republicans voted in favor of the Securing America's Future Act while voting against the Goodlatte-Ryan-Denham Amnesty. Another two House Republicans voted in favor of the Securing America's Future Act and didn't vote on the Goodlatte-Ryan-Denham Amnesty. Not surprisingly, most of the 101 House Republicans have a B-grade or better on our Immigration-Reduction Grade Cards for this Congress.

VOTED 'YES' ON H.R. 4760 / VOTED 'NO' ON H.R. 6136

Jodey Arrington (TX-19) -- A+ Michael Burgess (TX-26) -- B+
Brian Babin (TX-36) -- A+ Thomas Garrett (VA-5) -- B+
Lou Barletta (PA-11) -- A+ Tom Graves (GA-14) -- B+
Marsha Blackburn (TN-7) -- A+ Garret Graves (LA-6) -- B+
Dave Brat (VA-7) -- A+ Duncan Hunter (CA-50) -- B+
Mo Brooks (AL-5) -- A+ Evan Jenkins (WV-3) -- B+
Ken Buck (CO-4) -- A+ Doug LaMalfa (CA-1) -- B+
Ron DeSantis (FL-6) -- A+ Doug Lamborn (CO-5) -- B+
Scott DesJarlais (TN-4) -- A+ Mark Meadows (NC-11) -- B+
Jeff Duncan (SC-3) -- A+ Todd Rokita (IN-4) -- B+
Matt Gaetz (FL-1) -- A+ Jim Sensenbrenner (WI-5) -- B+
Glenn Grothman (WI-6) -- A+ Ralph Abraham (LA-5) -- B
Jody Hice (GA-10) -- A+ Ted Budd (NC-13) -- B
Mike Johnson (LA-4) -- A+ James Comer (KY-1) -- B
Walter Jones Jr. (NC-3) -- A+ John Culberson (TX-7) -- B
Jim Jordan (OH-4) -- A+ Ron Estes (KS-4) -- B
Raúl Labrador (ID-1) -- A+ Kay Granger (TX-12) -- B
Barry Loudermilk (GA-11) -- A+ Sam Johnson (TX-3) -- B
Kenny Marchant (TX-24) -- A+ Billy Long (MO-7) -- B
Tom McClintock (CA-4) -- A+ Phil Roe (TN-1) -- B
Pete Olson (TX-22) -- A+ Keith Rothfus (PA-12) -- B
Gary Palmer (AL-6) -- A+ Mark Sanford (SC-1) -- B
Scott Perry (PA-4) -- A+ David Schweikert (AZ-6) -- B
Bill Posey (FL-8) -- A+ Bruce Westerman (AR-4) -- B
John Ratcliffe (TX-4) -- A+ Bradley Byrne (AL-1) -- B-
Pete Sessions (TX-32) -- A+ Rick Crawford (AR-1) -- B-
Lamar Smith (TX-21) -- A+ Tom Rice (SC-7) -- B-
Daniel Webster (FL-11) -- A+ Lloyd Smucker (PA-16) -- B-
Lee Zeldin (NY-1) -- A+ Claudia Tenney (NY-22) -- B-
Jim Banks (IN-3) -- A Rod Blum (IA-1) -- C+
John Carter (TX-31) -- A Vern Buchanan (FL-16) -- C+
Buddy Carter (GA-1) -- A Mike Rogers (AL-3) -- C+
Warren Davidson (OH-8) -- A Liz Cheney (WY-0) -- C
Trey Gowdy (SC-4) -- A Tom Emmer (MN-6) -- C
Alex Mooney (WV-2) -- A Virginia Foxx (NC-5) -- C
Ralph Norman Jr. (SC-5) -- A Sam Graves (MO-6) -- C
Martha Roby (AL-2) -- A Trey Hollingsworth (IN-9) -- C
David Rouzer (NC-7) -- A Markwayne Mullin (OK-2) -- C
Mark Walker (NC-6) -- A Robert Wittman (VA-1) -- C
Randy Weber (TX-14) -- A Paul Cook (CA-8) -- C-
Roger Williams (TX-25) -- A Chuck Fleischmann (TN-3) -- C-
Rick Allen (GA-12) -- A- George Holding (NC-2) -- C-
John Duncan (TN-2) -- A- David Kustoff (TN-8) -- C-
Andy Harris (MD-1) -- A- Darin LaHood (IL-18) -- C-
Richard Hudson (NC-8) -- A- Robert Latta (OH-5) -- C-
Trent Kelly (MS-1) -- A- Adrian Smith (NE-3) -- C-
Debbie Lesko (AZ-8) -- A- Jason Smith (MO-8) -- C-
Steven Palazzo (MS-4) -- A- Mike Gallagher (WI-8) -- D
Ted Poe (TX-2) -- A- Scott Taylor (VA-2) -- D
Ted Yoho (FL-3) -- A- Scott Tipton (CO-3) -- D
Robert Aderholt (AL-4) -- B+  

Reps. Diane Black (R-Tenn.) and Luke Messer (R-Ind.) receive an honorable mention for voting in favor of H.R. 4760, but they didn't make the list above because neither voted for or against the Goodlatte-Ryan-Denham Amnesty bill.

Eleven House Republicans voted against BOTH bills. I'm fairly certain that five of the eleven based their voting decisions on the fact that both bills contained an amnesty for illegal aliens.

Andy Biggs (AZ-5) -- A+
Louie Gohmert (TX-1) -- A+
Paul Gosar (AZ-4) -- A+
Steve King (IA-4) -- A+
Dana Rohrabacher (CA-48) -- B

Rep. Will Hurd (R-Texas), who voted against both bills, was one of the amnesty discharge petition signers and the lead sponsor of the USA Act, H.R. 4796, that would have granted amnesty to at least 1.8 million illegal aliens without any enforcement or reductions in legal immigration. Rep. Hurd said his opposition to H.R. 6136 was because he didn't think the proposal would secure the border. And he's been opposed to H.R. 4760 since its introduction.

Thirty House Republicans voted against the Securing America's Future Act and in favor of the Goodlatte-Ryan-Amnesty. Twenty-two of the 30 Members have a D-grade or worse on our Immigration-Reduction Grade Cards.

There weren't any real suprises on the list, although House Republican Conference Chair Cathy McMorris Rodgers of Washington was the only member of the House GOP Leadership team to vote against H.R. 4760 and in favor of H.R. 6136. House Speaker Paul Ryan also voted in favor of the Goodlatte-Ryan-Denham Amnesty bill, but did not vote on H.R. 4760.

VOTED 'NO' ON H.R. 4760 / VOTED 'YES' ON H.R. 6136

Mike Coffman (CO-6) -- B- Jeff Denham (CA-10) -- D
Leonard Lance (NJ-7) -- C David Valadao (CA-21) -- D
Dan Newhouse (WA-4) -- C Tom MacArthur (NJ-3) -- D
Michael Turner (OH-10) -- C- Elise Stefanik (NY-21) -- D
Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-5) -- C- John Katko (NY-24) -- D
Peter Roskam (IL-6) -- C- Ryan Costello (PA-6) -- D
Steve Knight (CA-25) -- C- Mia Love (UT-4) -- D
Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-8) -- C- Barbara Comstock (VA-10) -- D
Rodney Frelinghuysen (NJ-11) -- D John Faso (NY-19) -- D
Frank LoBiondo (NJ-2) -- D Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25) -- F-
Mike Simpson (ID-2) -- D Pete King (NY-2) -- F-
Fred Upton (MI-6) -- D Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL-27) -- F-
Bill Shuster (PA-9) -- D Chris Smith (NJ-4) -- F-
Erik Paulsen (MN-3) -- D David Reichert (WA-8) -- F-
Tom Reed (NY-23) -- D Carlos Curbelo (FL-26) -- F-

Ninety House Republicans voted in favor of both bills, including 10 Members with A-grades or better. All 10 Members either authored or cosponsored H.R. 4760, the Securing America's Future Act.

Tom Marino (PA-10) -- A+
Michael McCaul (TX-10) -- A+

Ken Calvert (CA-42) -- A
Doug Collins (GA-9) -- A
Bob Goodlatte (VA-6) -- A
Jeb Hensarling (TX-5) -- A
Francis Rooney (FL-19) -- A

Steve Chabot (OH-1) -- A-
Robert Pittenger (NC-9) -- A-
Tim Walberg (MI-7) -- A-

The roll call of H.R 4760 can be found here, and the roll call for H.R. 6136 can be found here.

CHRIS CHMIELENSKI is the Deputy Director for NumbersUSA

Chain Migration

Updated: Thu, Jul 12th 2018 @ 10:05am EDT

NumbersUSA's blogs are copyrighted and may be republished or reposted only if they are copied in their entirety, including this paragraph, and provide proper credit to NumbersUSA. NumbersUSA bears no responsibility for where our blogs may be republished or reposted. The views expressed in blogs do not necessarily reflect the official position of NumbersUSA.